Uttar Pradesh to establish India’s first Climate Change Authority


State of the Taj Mahal, Uttar Pradesh, will be the first in the country to create an independent Climate Change Authority, TOI reported.

The legal body under the chairmanship of UP CM Yogi Adityanath will actualize the seven conservation missions formulated in the Uttar Pradesh State Action Plan on Climate Change (SAPCC).

According to minister of state for Environment, UP, Upendra Tiwari, the framework of the authority with a sanctioned initial investment of INR 200 million ($3.07 million) has finalized. “We will obtain the consent of the CM to have the authority in place shortly,” he said.

The authority is already registered under the Societies Registration Act, and is in final stage of formulation, said Anwar Ali khan, OSD, UP Environment Directorate.

UP Government formulated its SAPCC in 2014 and the seven missions mentioned in the plan are sustainable agriculture, solar, energy efficiency, green UP forestry, jal, strategic knowledge, and sustainable habitat.

The seven missions cover 93 priority areas, for example the agriculture mission will check the impact of climate variations on crops. Key priorities are setting up a climate change cell, installation and use of solar systems, conducting of energy audits and promotion of energy efficient technologies, encouraging plantation and integrated water resource management in over-exploited areas, to increase research activities, and to work for housing for all, solid waste management, etc.

UP is one of the highest emitting states of the country, and contributes nearly 14% of India’s greenhouse gases (GHG). Fossil fuel consumption, power generation and agricultural activities are major factors responsible, which require immediate action to mitigate climate change.

This content is protected by copyright and may not be reused. If you want to cooperate with us and would like to reuse some of our content, please contact: editors@pv-magazine.com.