Uttar Pradesh lined up for 440 MW solar capacity


The Ministry had approved the setting up of four solar parks in Uttar Pradesh (UP) with a total capacity of 440 MW. These solar parks are being set up by Lucknow Solar Park Development Corporation (LSPDC) which is a joint venture of Solar Energy Corporation of India (SECI) and UP New and Renewable Energy Development Agency (UPNEDA) under UP Government.

A 50 MW solar power plant has already come up in Allahabad, and another 40 MW is ready for commissioning in Jalaun district.  With the inauguration of a 75 MW power plant in Mirzapur, the total capacity of solar power plants in UP has gone up to 165 MW.

Adding to that, biddings of 225 MW solar PV power plants will be opened on April 12, 2018.

Mirzapur 75 MW: UP’s largest PV plant

On Monday, March 12, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and French President Emmanuel Macron inaugurated Uttar Pradesh’s largest solar power plant of 75 MW (101 MWp) capacity at Vijaypur village in Mirzapur.

The project built by French-based Engie at the cost of INR 5.28 billion ($81.42 million), will generate 130 million kWh electricity annually.

Ministry of Power informed that the power plant was set up under solar park scheme of Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE). For the project, financial assistance in terms of Viability Gap Funding (VGF) at the rate of INR 7.425 million ($114493) per MW has been provided by the Government of India.

On the occasion, the Union Minister of Power, MNRE, RK Singh said that in view of the progress made so far, nation will meet the 100 GW solar by 2022 target ahead of the schedule. He outlined that solar energy is important for India’s energy security and the government is working in a fast track mode in this direction.

This content is protected by copyright and may not be reused. If you want to cooperate with us and would like to reuse some of our content, please contact: editors@pv-magazine.com.