India to develop 60 solar cities


The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), under its scheme ‘Development of Solar Cities’, has approved 60 cities, including 13 pilot and five model cities, as part of the 12th five-year plan period.

In a written reply to the Rajya Sabha, the upper assembly of parliament, on February 6, MNRE head RK Singh, confirmed that the master plans of 49 solar cities have been prepared.

The stakeholders committees have been constituted in 21 cities, and solar city cells have been created in 37 solar cities.

Singh notified that solar PV projects with an aggregate capacity of nearly 8.1 MW, and solar water heating systems with the total size of 7,894 square meter collector area, had been sanctioned under the program.

So far, INR 1,016.4 million ($15.82 million) has been sanctioned, while INR 259.2 million ($4.03 million) has been already released under the scheme.

Further, MNRE has accorded sanction for the preparation of a master plan for ‘Development of 52 Green Campus’, also under the five-year plan period.

The Ministry provides Central Financial Assistance (CFA) of up to INR 500,000 ($7,780) for preparing a master plan for development of the green campus in the educational institutions, office complexes, residential, commercial complexes, and others.

Singh mentioned that an amount of INR 25.9 million ($403,000) had been sanctioned, and INR 10.2 million ($158,710) has been released up to January 31, 2018, for the development of green campuses.

This content is protected by copyright and may not be reused. If you want to cooperate with us and would like to reuse some of our content, please contact: