Australia, Cuba, Malawi, and Peru ratify ISA framework


The International Solar Alliance (ISA) received four more ratifications in November from Australia, Cuba, Malawi, and Peru, respectively, swelling the alliance’s overall ratified members to 19 in total. Out of 121 countries that are located wholly or partially between the tropics and thus can become part of the ISA, 46 have so far signed the agreement.

The ISA will become a legal body on December 6, but the inauguration itself is to be postponed to March 11, 2018. The main reason for the rescheduling is the unavailability of French President Emmanuel Macron due to election commitments, and similar elections in other five signatory countries, confirmed Gyanesh Choudhary, MD and CEO, Vikram Solar to pv magazine in an interview ahead of COP23.

In a preview to ISA’s work, the alliance has already introduced two programs: the rooftop solar program for scaling up residential installations across member countries, and the Common Risk Mitigation Mechanism (CRMM) feasibility study to mitigate financial risks in global solar markets.

*The article was updated on February 14, 2018 to amend a revision in the event date. We had earlier reported that inauguration of ISA has been postponed to January 2018, but are happy to correct this and state that the inauguration will be held on March 11, 2018.

This content is protected by copyright and may not be reused. If you want to cooperate with us and would like to reuse some of our content, please contact: